Project Management Boards

The day-to-day management of the EMIF project is done via various management boards, each of which have their own specific responsibilities.


Project & Topic Leaders

The overall project coordination is ensured by:

  • Bart Vannieuwenhuyse, Janssen Pharmaceutica as overall Project Coordinator
  • Sir Simon Lovestone, University of Oxford as overall Project Co-Coordinator


Each individual Topic is managed by a tandem of Topic Leaders:

  • Johan Van der Lei, Erasmus Medical Center as academic EMIF-Platform leader
  • Nigel Hughes, Janssen Pharmaceutica as EFPIA EMIF-Platform leader
  • Pieter Jelle Visser, VU University Medical Center as academic EMIF-AD leader
  • Johannes Streffer, Janssen Pharmaceutica as EFPIA EMIF-AD leader
  • Ulf Smith, University of Gothenburg as academic EMIF-Metabolic leader
  • Dawn Waterworth, GlaxoSmithKline as EFPIA EMIF-Metabolic Leader


Other management boards

At the overall project level, the Operations Team, Programme Board and General Assembly are responsible for dealing with the day-to-day operations, cross-Topical collaboration and defining the strategic focus for EMIF.

At the individual Topic level, Topic-specific governances have been defined to ensure efficient management of the Topics.


Project management office

Dedicated project management support for both the project as a whole and the individual Topics is provided through partners Janssen Pharmaceutica, Synapse Research Management Partners, Concentris GmbH and GlaxoSmithKline.

Project Advisory Boards

The EMIF project receives advice on its strategic focus and outcomes via three independent advisory boards.


Ethical Advisory Board (EAB)

The EAB is providing advice for the setting up of EMIF’s appropriate governance structures and for addressing the ethical, legal, and privacy aspects pertaining to the re-use of human health data within the EMIF project.

The EMIF EAB currently has 6 members:

  • Prof. Luciano Floridi, Professor of Philosophy and Ethics of Information, Oxford Internet Institute, University of Oxford and Turing Faculty Fellow, The Alan Turing Institute, London (chair of the EMIF EAB)
  • Prof. Effy Vayena, Professor of Health Policy, University of Zürich
  • Prof. Burkhard Schäfer, Professor of Computational Legal Theory, University of Edinburgh and Director of its SCRIPT Centre for IT and IP law
  • Prof. Christoph Lütge, holder of the Peter Löscher Chair of Business Ethics,  Technical University of Munich
  • Prof. Peggy Valcke, Professor ICT and media law, KU Leuven
  • Prof. Ugo Pagallo, Professor of Jurisprudence at the Faculty of Law, University of Turin


    Check a more detailed description of the EAB’s responsibilities and members

    A PDF version of a summary overview of the EAB’s responsibilities and short bios of its members


Senior Industry Board (SIB)

The SIB serves as the ultimate escalation point and upon request will provide strategic direction for EMIF. This board is composed of senior leaders from participating EFPIA companies.


Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

Three SABs have been set up to provide advice to each of the individual Topics regarding the scientific results and overall course. Each SAB is composed of experts nominated by the public and private partners involved in the specific Topics.